when mommy goes out the window

It was not prominent on my mental list of ‘things to think about’ – not like money (there’s never enough! plays on loop) or travel or – well, you know. So when the doctor’s office called with the results of my blood work, I didn’t pick up the phone, I hadn’t been waiting beside it, I was singing ‘Over in the Meadow’ and had to be motioned over by the director –

I should start by saying that Shane’s child is exactly like him, mostly. He has an absent mother – she’s absent from the marriage too, actually, from a lot of things. She’s very present when she’s sniping about her husband’s personal failings to all and sundry on the playground, but as to being a mother . . . well, one day when we were were discussing feelings, specifically “sad”, and each child said what made him/her sad, he said “When Mommy goes into her room and locks the door and then Mommy goes out the window and I see her drive away in her car.”

Yes. Well. Of course he’s attached to his teachers, of course he’s attached to me. One morning I walked in and he ran to meet me, stopped just short of my face and sneezed on it. It was very wet, but I’m (of course) a grizzled old hand and wiped my face off with a tissue without complaint. He’s a pale, sensitive little child. He apologized for getting my face wet.

The results of my blood work? Mono. I was sent packing from work so quickly it made my head spin, admonished to keep my fluids up and remain in bed.

So now I’m in bed, alone with my proverbial thoughts.

2 thoughts on “when mommy goes out the window

  1. My sister had mono twice. Both times, it was the result of exhaustion and stress. Then again, it can be the ‘kissing disease’, so I hope you, at the very least, had fun getting it.

  2. I’m still learning from you, as I’m improving myself. I absolutely enjoy reading everything that is written on your blog.Keep the aarticles coming. I loved it!

Comments are closed.