everything

Everything he says sounds like the right thing, I thought, up to my elbows in sudsy water. I thought of his face. He looks earnest when he’s talking to me. I guess he just looks earnest all the time. I guess . . . I need more coffee. It’s the afternoon, I don’t need coffee. I’ll just be up until 4 again.

I don’t know why it’s 4 – the magic hour when I suddenly fall asleep no matter what.

Late night/early morning is the loneliest time imaginable to be awake. Sometimes I feel like the last person alive, and I wonder how many other people are feeling like that, like me, just like me, and are only a few yards away.

4 thoughts on “everything

  1. The magic hour for me is 5:30 when I wake up no matter what is going on in life. I am one of those annoying people who wake up cheerful, energetic, and full of new ideas. My poor husband! He is a very, very patient man.

Comments are closed.