coffee hugs

I sighed, looked at and in my change purse again. How much change can I use before I look poor? I wondered. Who cares? It’s not like I’ll return to this or any other Starbuck’s for the remainder of the summer. Maybe I have more money in the fall or maybe the falling leaves just kick my brain into some heightened level of excitement –

And suddenly my thoughts stopped, because I felt hot breath on the back of my neck. “Guess who?” a voice was asking, and I was pulling in my shoulders and jumping forward before I actually understood someone had been hugging me from behind. “Lola!” laughed Aviva, behind me, all teeth on display again, “Why are you so uptight?” I rubbed my shoulders, shivered a little. “Oh, hi, Aviva, hi,” I said, not knowing what to say – whatever the right thing to say was, it probably wasn’t ‘hi’.

“She’s my child’s teacher,” she waved at the barista, who was looking at both of us with extreme apprehension.

This was supposed to be the highlight of my day, I thought, and now all I want is to run screaming from this place.

One thought on “coffee hugs

  1. I laughed when you said you were using change because I use change ALL THE TIME. It’s a compulsion with me to get rid of it. I can’t stand carrying it around and I find saving it a real nuisance when it comes time to take it to the bank.

    But I’m also a hypocrite. I feel I count change very quickly, since I use it so often, but I HATE being stuck behind someone who searches through purse/coat/pants/wallet in search of a nickel. I find it painful to witness, and many times I’ve offered to pay the extra 5 cents. It’s surprising how often people refuse,and carry on with their search.

Comments are closed.